Mayor Patterson-Howard Announces Mount Vernon Police Reform Commission

The City of Mount Vernon under the leadership of Mayor Patterson- Howard and Police Commissioner Glenn Scott have launched the Mount Vernon Police Reform Commission (MVPRC). The work done by the commission will coincide with the reform agenda Mayor Patterson-Howard launched at the beginning of 2020. With the hiring of Commissioner Scott, the police department has already created new policies, procedures, training, and other reforms.

Since July, under the leadership of Deputy Commissioner Jennifer Lackard, the idea of police reform has been front and center for the Mount Vernon Police Department. Her work to date has been integral in reforming the Police Department and will go along with the focus areas outlined below. Together, we are looking forward to the exciting and community-centered work to ensure that we create a safer Mount Vernon where residents are treated equitably. That includes taking up the mantle of 21st Century policing, following recommendations from the Obama Foundation, and changing the culture of policing in Mount Vernon. The MVPRC is comprised of elected officials, diverse community members, criminal justice advocates, and policymakers in Mount Vernon. The 24members of the MVPRC are (Co-chairs are in bold):

Hon. Derrick Thompson, Councilman Jennifer Lackard, PD Deputy Commissioner Hon. Jamaal T. Bailey. State Senator Danielle Browne, Attorney

Arthur Muhammad, MVCSD Youth Specialist

Tamika Coverdale, Attorney

Dwayne Murray, Coach & Community Advocate

William Wagstaff, Attorney

Andom Ghebreghiorgis, Community Advocate

Sylvia Tyree, Community Advocate

Cynthia Turnquest-Jones, MVCSD Trustee

Axel Ebermann, Community Advocate

Mary Kingsley, Community Advocate

Shawn Marshall, Community Advocate

Pedro Coelho, Business Owner

Joanne Dunn, Director of YSPW

Daniella Jackson, WC Dept. of Probation

David Patterson, Community Advocate

Vincent Stufano, Retired MVPD officer

Anika Hall, Resident Richard Morales, Resident Henry Terry, SNUG

Gilda Tavarez, WC Dept. of Probation

Pastor Arthur Rose, Family Restoration Project

Randy Scott, Social Worker

Amy Gelles, CEO of The Guidance Center

Kathy Marmolejos, Community Advocate

Overall, the commission will be tasked with addressing four focus areas outlined by Governor Andrew Cuomo, they include the following:

  • Functions Should the Police Perform
  • Employing Smart and Effective Policing Standards and Strategies
  • Fostering Community-Oriented Leadership, Culture & Accountability
  • Recruiting and Supporting Personnel

Mayor Patterson-Howard said, “My platform and career have always centered around police reform and public safety. At the start of my administration, I made it a top priority, and this commission provides an opportunity to include stakeholders in the conversation on how we further reform our police department. The work done by Commissioner Scott and DC Lackard are testaments to the priority we’ve placed on changing the culture of policing, and I look forward to making Mount Vernon the model community for public safety in the 21st century